Who We Are

ABA acknowledges that the province of Alberta is located on Treaty 4, Treaty 6, Treaty 7, Treaty 8 and Treaty 10 territories, and respects the histories, languages, and cultures of the First Nations, the Métis, the Inuit, and all of the First People's of Canada who share a history and a deep connection with this land, whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries and whose presence continues to enrich our vibrant community.

The Alberta Basketball Association (ABA), a not-for-profit organization and the governing body for the sport of basketball in Alberta. We believe that our amazing sport is more than just a game; it is A Game for Life TM . The game of basketball assists all who participate by developing life skills and habits that will benefit and enrich their lives.

ABA is committed to providing a safe environment and fair competition for all of its members.  Through sanctioning we provide guidelines and regulations for groups running events, programs and tournaments helping to ensure a safe, fair and positive environment.


Board of Directors


Vacant President
Chad Bowie Acting President/Vice President 
Kara Vanhooren Secretary
Sean Foote Treasurer
Carey Blaskin Director at Large
Marty Birky Director at Large
Jay Ouellette Director at Large
Eddie Richardson III Director at Large
Perry Stothart Director at Large
Reed Clarke Director at Large