ABA Alumni Strike Gold at Canada West Men's and Women's Championships

Feb. 26, 2024

Student-Athletes from Alberta were part of the championship-winning teams in Canada West men’s and women’s basketball on Sunday (Feb. 25).


Elias Ralph (Okotoks) and Aaron Tesfagiorgis (Calgary) won gold with the Victoria Vikes, who defeated the Winnipeg Wesmen 96-91 in the men’s championship final in Winnipeg, Man.


Carly Ahlstrom (Calgary), Tea Demong (St. Albert), and Maya Flindall (St. Albert) captured gold with the Saskatchewan Huskies, who beat the Alberta Pandas 73-42 in the women’s championship final in Abbotsford, BC.

Ahlstrom, Demong, Flindall and Ralph have all been involved with Alberta Basketball Association programming, including provincial team and athlete development.

The Vikes and Huskies will next be in action at the U Sports Final 8 national championships. The women’s tournament is being hosted by the University of Alberta  and will take place at the Saville Community Sports Centre in Edmonton from March 7 to 10. The men’s tournament runs March 8-10 in Quebec City.